Disillusioned

Standard

Today was a weird one. I found out a lot about other people and myself that really knocked me off balance. First off, my mom was watching that new movie, Jobs and she told me that when Steve Jobs was 23 he abandoned his girlfriend when she got pregnant. You know how they say, “Don’t meet your heroes.” Well, here’s a new one for you. Don’t watch movies based on your heroes’ lives either. He eventually fessed up to being the father and got involved in his daughter’s life, but growing up without a dad for any period of time can really mess a person up. I know that they managed to repair their relationship, but if I was her, I’d probably be dealing with some permanent abandonment issues. I still respect everything that Jobs accomplished, but I won’t think of him with quite the same reverie as before.

The thing I discovered about myself is that I’m probably the worst gift wrapper that ever lived. I got home today with the presents that I bought for my family and I was so excited to wrap them. I hadn’t gift wrapped in years and I remembered it being fun. Well, my memory lied. :/ Not just about it being fun, but also about me being any good at it. I could have sworn that I was the world’s most kick ass gift wrapper. I got home ready to break out my gift wrapping prowess, but it got chaotic fast, with most of my little sister’s Jack and the Neverland Pirates gift wrapping paper ending up crumpled up on the floor because the pieces I kept cutting were too small. That was only after I finished wrapping two gifts.

Don’t roll your eyes at me!

Leave a comment